[POLICY][COMM PLAN][T&I]- Discussion and possible action (letter/CIS) regarding requesting Dept of Public Works Bureau of Engineering extend the comment period for the Sidewalk Repair Draft Environmental Impact Report (DEIR)

Motion

Letter/CIS to read:

"To: Shilpa Gupta Environmental Supervisor I City of Los Angeles Public Works Bureau of Engineering 1149 S Broadway, Suite 600, Mail stop 939 Los Angeles, CA 90015

Re: Sidewalk Repair Program Draft Environmental Impact Report

Dear Ms Gupta,

A key feature of the Environmental Impact Report under CEQA is the opportunity for public review and comment. While we appreciate the extension already granted to accommodate the City's neighborhood council process, please understand that the city-wide coronavirus shutdown required nearly all neighborhood council meetings to be cancelled before they could convene a board meeting to approve comments on the Sidewalk Repair Program Draft Environmental Impact Report (DEIR).

The Mar Vista Community Council has succeeded in resuming its Board meetings on a virtual platform and its comments on the DEIR will be submitted in a separate communication, however many Neighborhood Councils have not, and this letter requests the extension on their behalf, so that the CEQA process can truly be enacted City-wide.

We therefore request another 60-day extension on the DEIR comment period to June 24, 2020.

Respectfully,

Cc:

Cc: Deputy City Engineer Julie Sauter, BOE Robert Vega, BOE

Amber Elton, BOE

City Engineer Gary Lee Moore, BOE

Deborah Weintraub, Chief Deputy City Engineer

Executive Officer Fernando Campos, BPW

Director Adel Hagekhalil, StreetsLA

Martin Schlageter, StreetsLA

Commissioner Kevin James, BPW

Commissioner Aura Garcia, BPW

Commissioner Mike Davis, BPW

Commissioner Jessica Caloza, BPW

Commissioner Teresa Villegas, BPW

Mayor Eric Garcetti

Council Member Gil Cedillo

Council Member Paul Krekorian

Council Member Bob Blumenfield

Council Member David Ryu

Council Member Paul Koretz

Council Member Nury Martinez

Council Member Monica Rodriguez

Council Member Marqueece Harris-Dawson

Council Member Curren Price

Council Member Herb Wesson

Council Member Mike Bonin

Council Member John Lee

Council Member Mitch O'Farrell

Council Member Jose Buscaino