

Mar Vista Community Council P.O. Box 66871 Mar Vista, CA 90066

Board of Directors 2011-2012

Chair Albert Olson albert@marvista.org

1st Vice Chair Sharon Commins smcommins@marvista.org

> 2nd Vice Chair Bill Koontz billk@marvista.org

Secretary Laura Bodensteiner laura@marvista.org

> Treasurer Alex Thompson alex@marvista.org

Zone Directors

Zone 1 Babak Nahid Zone 2 Bill Koontz Zone 3 Kate Anderson Zone 4 Tara Mulski Zone 5 Maritza Przekop Zone 6 Marilyn Marble

At-Large Directors

Laura Bodensteiner Sharon Commins Geoffrey Forgione Albert Olson Chuck Ray Bill Scheding

Community Director

Alex Thompson



Certified Neighborhood Council August 13, 2002 July 12, 2011

To Whom It May Concern:

The Mar Vista Community Council Board of Directors, at its regular July 12th meeting, approved the following motion:

Whereas, on June 10, 2011, the California Citizens' Redistricting Commission (CCRC) released its preliminary proposed statewide redistricting maps for State Senate, State Assembly, and Congressional Districts;

Whereas, while the MVCC applauds the CRRC's decision to keep the MVCC entirely in a single Congressional district, the CRRC's proposed State Senate and State Assembly districts appear to sever the area encompassed by the MVCC and apportion those severed areas into different representative districts;

Whereas, the CRRC is charged first and foremost with respecting the geographical integrity of any local neighborhood or community;

Whereas, by establishing the Neighborhood Council system nearly a decade ago, the City of Los Angeles has declared and designated certain communities of interest and those communities, having chartered a neigborhood council, have operated as communities of interest within their borders;

Therefore, the MVCC opposes the splitting of any neighborhood of the City of Los Angeles into different representative districts and specifically calls upon the CRRC to respect the geographical integrity of the boundaries of the MVCC by not splitting any portion of the MVCC into different State Senate and State Assembly districts.

Thank You,

both Blea

Albert Olson Chair Mar Vista Community Council Board of Directors